Auto Draft

Seven Northern states, one oil-producing state declared bankrupt in Nigeria


Seven Northern states and one Southern state have been declared bankrupt based on their internally generated revenue in comparison with their Federal Accounts Allocation (FAA).

Jigawa, Katsina, Adamawa, Yobe, Niger, Taraba and Benue were tagged insolvent states alongside oil-producing Bayelsa State by the Annual State Viability Index (ASVI) of Economic Confidential.

The status of the states were determined by percentage arrived at when their IGR and FAA was compared, and states with IGR of less than 10 percent of their federal allocation are classified insolvent.

Bankrupt states in Nigeris by 2020

Bayelsa topped the list of the poorest states in Nigeria as it received a total of N152.54 billion as FAA in 2020, but generated only N12.18 billion as IGR – this represents 8.0 percent of earnings from FAA.

Jigawa State came next with IGR of N8.6 billion in contrast to the N107 billion it received as allocation during the same period – this represented 8.1 percent of total earning.

Katsina recorded 8.8 percent after generating N11.3 billion against the N130 billion federal allocation.

Adamawa received N91 billion of FAA, but could only generate N8.3 billion IGR, putting the differences at 9.1 percent.

Yobe state recorded N7.7 billion IGR, but got N84 billion federal allocation – this represented 9.2 percent in total receipt.

Niger State was next with 9.6 percent as its internally generated revenue was put at N10.5 billion compared to N109 billion of FAA.

Taraba generated N8.1 billion as IGR, but was given N82 billion from federal allocation, putting its difference in earnings at 9.8 percent.

Benue completed the list with IGR of N10.46 billion, far below the N106 billion it received as FAA, representing 9.8 percent last year.

Best performing states in Nigeria


0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments