PDP reclaims Abuja council chairmanship

Legit Ng 

A Federal Capital Territory (FCT) court has upheld the election of Hon. Christopher Maikalangu as Chairman of Abuja Municipal Area Council (AMAC). 

In a unanimous judgement, the three-man tribunal, including Hon. Justice S. B Belgore (Chairman), Hon. Justice Yusuf Halilu (member 1), Hon. Justice Jude O. Onwuegbuzie (member 2) dismissed the August 5 judgment of the FCT Area Council Election Tribunal, which declared Hon. Murtala Usman Karshi of the All Progressives Congress (APC) as winner of the election of February 12. The justices said that the judgement of the lower tribunal was not only evil, but negates all the achievements recorded in Nigeria’s democracy.
While reading out the lead judgment in suit FCT/ACEAT/AP/01/22, which had Maikalangu of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) as appellant and Murtala Karshi and three others as respondent, Hon. Justice Yusuf Halilu, said the lower tribunal erred by ignoring contradictory evidences before it…


0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments