England’s controversial penalty: Was there even contact? A second ball on the pitch?

England’s controversial penalty: Was there even contact? A second ball on the pitch?

Marca

England advance but not without questions

England booked their place in Euro 2020’s final in controversial circumstances on Wednesday as they needed a penalty in extra time to beat Denmark 2-1.

Raheem Sterling went to ground at 1-1 in the 102nd minute in London to see a spot kick awarded, though it was a soft decision that Denmark were right to feel aggrieved with. Despite VAR briefly checking an incident that appeared to have minimal – if any – contact, it stood.

Danny Makkelie, the referee on the night, received no word from VAR that the decision should have been overturned, and Harry Kane eventually turned in the rebound after seeing the penalty itself saved by Kasper Schmeichel.

Another controversy around the goal

As Sterling reached the box and before he weaved his way into the area, there appeared to be another ball on the pitch and only a metre or two from Sterling and the match ball that was in use.

Social media then blew up in the immediate aftermath, talking about how Gareth Southgate’s side stole a place in the final.

This article originally appeared in Marca

More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

England's controversial penalty: Was there even contact? A second ball on the pitch?

 

Log In

Or with username:

Forgot password?

Forgot password?

Enter your account data and we will send you a link to reset your password.

Your password reset link appears to be invalid or expired.

Log in

Privacy Policy

Add to Collection

No Collections

Here you'll find all collections you've created before.